Memo Marshall: Twigg Named Winner of Dr. David Ealy Community Service Award | News, Sports, Jobs

Although the annual Marshall County Chamber of Commerce dinner is eight weeks away, some of the planning is already complete. There are two changes to dinner, each related to rewards.

In previous meetings, those who received the honors were announced at the meeting. However, current President Zack Blair decided to change the format and the recipients have already been announced.

The chamber will recognize Bernie Twigg as the recipient of this year’s Dr. David Ealy Community Service Award. Twigg is a longtime member of the chamber, including as president, but has never been honored with the top prize.

The chamber will also award the Lifetime Achievement Award to the Moundsville Economic Development Council for its impact in the community. MEDC researches and develops ways to revitalize Moundsville’s business atmosphere. The goal is to bring social, cultural and economic growth to the community.

For those not in the know, the chamber was organized to promote and advance the welfare of the county and surrounding areas. The chamber is committed to helping educate, market and provide networking opportunities for its members.

There will also be a presentation by West Virginia University President E. Gordon Gee at the House meeting. Gee has been a leader in higher education for more than four decades.

He will be introduced by Mistress of Ceremonies Karin Janiszewski, chamber board member and regional director of WVU-Medicine.

The dinner will be held at Moundsville Center (the former West Virginia Penitentiary) on October 12. Doors will open at 5 p.m., followed by dinner. Tickets will be available from September 1 at the chamber office.

The Marshall County Historical Society will hold a meeting of members at 7 p.m. Monday at its history museum at 13th Street and Lockwood Avenue in Moundsville.

Dave Schoenian, spokesman for the Marshall County Honor Guard and adjutant for the local military order of the Purple Heart, will speak. His presentation, “The Uniform Never Came Off” will share his experiences serving in Vietnam and how those experiences resulted in his lifelong commitment to veterans. There will be a membership meeting after the speaker. The public is invited to attend.

The Marshall County School Board hired six teachers and an instructor at its Tuesday meeting. The teachers are Cameron J. Gray (Teacher of Multi-Cats with Autism at Central Elementary), Rebekah L. Fox (English Teacher at Sherrard Middle School), Linzy A. Campeti (Second Grade Teacher at Cameron Elementary), Amanda J. McGraw (first-grade teacher at Hilltop Elementary), Jessica L. Bruce, (teacher of multi-cats with autism at John Marshall High), and Megan J. Miller (fifth-grade teacher, long-term acting, at Cameron Elementary ). Cole E. Simms was hired as Project Lead the Way Instructor at John Marshall High.

Other staff hired at the Board of Education meeting were Alisha J. Fahnestock (special education aide/autism mentor, long-term temporary at McNinch Elementary), David B. Coffield (bus operator, route 77-22, Stone Church/Sandhill), Jennifer A. Crow (School Nurse, Sandhill/Gateway Achievement Center/County/Itinerant), Tamera M. Smith (Executive Secretary/Account, Board of Education), Rachel L. Littleton ( from Bus Operator 23-19 Fish Creek to Bus Operator, Route 12-19) and James D. Higginson (from Bus Operator Route 50 Dry Ridge/891/250 to Route 30-12, Special Needs (half-time -AM)).

Resignations have been received from the following individuals:

Lisa Leichliter as a 7th grade English teacher and assistant varsity volleyball coach, both at Cameron High Middle School; Kathy L. Knight as an English teacher at Moundsville Middle School; Laura L. Smith, special education aide/autism mentor at Central Elementary; and Dorothy Price, FCCLA counselor at Cameron High.

Marshall County School Transportation Route information for the 2022-23 school year is now available. The list can be found on the county’s website ( under the links tab at the top of the page. Click Transportation, then Bus Routes. Choose a bus number to download a timetable. If a person is unsure which bus their child should take, they should contact the Transportation Department at 304-843-4422.

The transportation department reminds parents that their child must be at the bus stop at least five minutes before the indicated time. Students are not allowed to take a bus other than the one assigned to their home without the prior agreement of the bus garage.

Little Prince Lodge No. 79, Knights of Pythias, Moundsville, will sponsor a Golf Scramble at Moundsville Country Club on September 3. There will be a tee shot at 9 a.m. with prizes for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place. There will be post game food provided by Outback Steakhouse.

To register a four-person team or hole sponsor, call 304-639-6624 or email [email protected]

Monarch Stadium Community Night has been moved to Sunday only and will remain there through the rest of August, as well as September and October. The public is welcome to use the athletics from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. every Sunday. No animals are allowed.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Jill E. Washington